Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Programs

Our Office

The ESEA Office is a sub-office that lives under the Federal Programs Unit. The work of this office is to define program and systems quality and to establish standards, indicators, and protocols with which to assess local programs and systems. The goal is to help build the capacity of the field to implement higher quality programs and systems. Our office seeks to ensure that program applications, review protocols and approval criteria reflect high quality program standards and maximizes efficiency and impact.

Our Mission

The purpose of our work is ensure that the ESEA programs in Colorado provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education and close educational achievement gaps.

Our Stakeholders

The Every Student Succeeds Act Committee of Practitioners serves to advise the CDE in carrying out its responsibilities under the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. It operates to identify issues across regions of the state and facilitate two-way communication between CDE and the preK-12 education community throughout Colorado.

At this time, CDE is accepting applications for the following representation on the committee:

  • Charter school teacher(s)
  • Career and technical education teacher(s)
  • Principal(s) or other school leaders
  • Specialized instructional support personnel
  • Paraprofessional(s)
  • Additional parents of school-age children
  • Exceptional Student Services practitioner
  • Geographic representation from the Southeast, West Central, and Northwest Regions of the State

To apply for a position, fill out the 2018-19 Application(DOC) and submit to Brad Bylsma


Our Teams

Director: Nazanin Mohajeri-Nelson, Ph.D.
Assistant Director: DeLilah Collins
Supervisor: Kim Burnham

ESEA Programs

Administrative Lead: Michelle Prael
Email: prael_m@cde.state.co.us
Phone Number: 303-866-6998

The work of the ESEA Office is to define program and systems quality and to establish standards, indicators, and protocols with which to assess local programs and systems quality. The goal is to help build the capacity of the field to implement higher quality programs and systems. This office seeks to ensure that program applications, review protocols and approval criteria reflect high quality program standards and maximizes efficiency and impact.

 

 

 

Competitive Grants and Awards 

Administrative Lead: Brittany Jimenez
Email: jimenez_b@cde.state.co.us 
Phone Number: 303-866-6813

The Office of Competitive Grants and Awards is dedicated to enhancing school improvement through federal and state grant opportunities. We offer support to students, teachers and administrators in the application and funding process for a wide variety of grant and award programs. We strive to develop high quality grant applications and review protocols, to recognize highly effective local programs and educators, utilize their expertise in support of increased program effectiveness, and create incentives for others to implement bold reforms in support of increased student achievement.

Data, Program Evaluation and Reporting 

Administrative Lead: Sofia Hernandez Sosa
Email: hernandez-sosa_s@cde.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 866-6963

The Federal Programs Unit's Office of Data, Program Evaluation and Reporting (DPER) is responsible for evaluating the effectiveness of ESEA programs and fulfilling federal accountability and data reporting requirements. Our team collects, manages, and analyzes data to inform the development of applications for funding and standards for program quality, by going beyond accountability measures and evaluating the impact of programs and identifying best practices in program implementation.

 


Tools & Resources


Office of ESEA 

Nazanin (Nazie) Mohajeri-Nelson
Director, ESEA Programs Office
303-866-6205
mohajeri-nelson_n@cde.state.co.us

DeLilah Collins
Assistant Director, ESEA Programs Office
303-866-6850
collins_d@cde.state.co.us

Sofia Hernandez Sosa
Program Support
303-866-6963
hernandez-sosa_s@cde.state.co.us

Michelle Prael  
Program Support
303-866-6998
prael_m@cde.state.co.us

ESEA Programs Team

ESEA Programs

Brad Bylsma: Metro and Southwest Regions 
Director of Coordinated Supports
303-866-6937
bylsma_b@cde.state.co.us

Laura Meushaw: Metro, Southeast and Pikes Peak Regions 
Title I Specialist
303-866-6618
meushaw_l@cde.state.co.us

Jeremy Meredith: Southwest   
Title II Program Specialist 
303-866-3905
meredith_j@cde.state.co.us

James (Joey) Willett: Metro, Southwest, Northwest and West Central Regions 
Title I Specialist
303-866-6700
willett_j@cde.state.co.us

Kristen Collins: Southwest Region
Consultant: Title VB
303-866-6705
collins_k@cde.state.co.us

 

Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation Team

Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation

Donna Morganstern
Coordinator, ESEA Reporting
303-866-6209
morganstern_d@cde.state.co.us

Tina Negley
Research Analyst
303-866-5243
negley_t@cde.state.co.us

Alexandra Tolentino
Data Collection Specialist & Research Analyst
303-866-4571
tolentino_a@cde.state.co.us

Barbara Vassis
Principal Consultant
303-866-6065
vassis_b@cde.state.co.us

Competitive Grants and Awards Team

Competitive Grants and Awards

Kim Burnham
CGA Supervisor
303-866-6916
burnham_k@cde.state.co.us

Patricia Gleason
CGA Senior Consultant
303-866-6143
gleason_p@cde.state.co.us

Brittany Jimenez
Program Support 
303-866-6813
jimenez_b@cde.state.co.us

 

 

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access