You are here

Colorado READ Act

Teacher Reading to Students
 

READ Act and State Funded Preschool/Results Matter Spring Assessment requirements canceled

CDE is suspending spring K-3 READ Act and Preschool Results Matter assessment requirements for state reporting purposes.  If in-person instruction resumes this spring, teachers should exercise their judgment on the feasibility of giving the spring assessments to provide information to parents and to inform their instructional planning. 
 
The department will not collect spring reading assessment data and instead will base per pupil intervention funding for the 2020-21 school year on 2019-20 information. At this time, the department is determining what it will require to be submitted in the spring READ collection beyond a budget and narrative for use of READ funds in the 2020-21 school year, and we will be extending the submission timeline. 
 
CDE is reviewing other program requirements for CPP, including the annual spring report, to determine ways to streamline reporting for districts during the challenging time. Information regarding timelines for the READ budget submission, distribution of 2020-21 READ funds and adjustments to spring CPP reporting is forthcoming.

About the Colorado READ Act

The Colorado Reading to Ensure Academic Development Act (Colorado READ Act) was passed by the Colorado legislature in 2012, giving the state the guiding philosophy, structure and resources to get children reading at grade level by the time they enter the fourth grade.

Stay Informed

Please sign up for the READ Act communication list in order to stay informed of changes and updates related to SB19-199, READ Act Implementation Measures. CDE will announce ways to participate and provide your feedback throughout the implementation process.

Sign up for the READ Act communication list

2019 READing Conference Highlighted Speaker: Steven Dykstra, PhD

 

In October 2019, the department hosted the 5th Annual READing conference. Steven Dykstra, Ph.D., a psychologist from Milwaukee Wisconsin, where he does writing, speaking, and advocacy on the subject of reading and literacy, was one of the keynote presenters. His presentation focused on our shared history of reading instruction - to show us how we got here, where that is, and how we might find the courage to do better.


Colorado READ Act Changes: SB19-199

After six years of implementation of the READ Act, schools and districts were not seeing the dramatic improvements in reading levels envisioned by state leaders.

  • Colorado has seen only a 2 percent increase in third graders meeting or exceeding expectations on the Colorado Measures of Academic Success tests in English language arts.
  • Statewide data shows only a 1 percent reduction in the number of students identified with a significant reading deficiency (SRD).

Reviewing the implementation of the READ Act, policy makers identified challenges that contributed to its lower-than-desired impact:

  • The statute defined clear allowable uses of READ Act per-pupil intervention funds, but it did not provide clarity regarding accountability for the use of funds.
  • Reporting requirements for the READ Act make it challenging to identify instructional programming and interventions effective in reducing the number of students identified with SRDs.
  • The need for increasing teacher knowledge on evidence-based practices for teaching reading. Continue reading.

SB19 199 webpage

News and Events

READ Act Rules

The State Board of Education finalized the Rules for the Administration of the Colorado Reading to Ensure Academic Development Act (READ Act), 1 CCR 301-9.  This updates the rules  to incorporate changes to the READ Act that occurred in the 2018 and 2019 legislative sessions. 

Copy of Updated READ Rules

2020  Approved Instructional Programming

During the Spring of 2020 CDE engaged in a review of the following: core, intervention and supplemental instructional programs. The Spring 2020 review process has been interrupted due to COVID-19. At this time CDE has reviewed about 80 percent of the programs submitted.

2020 Approved Instructional Programming

Solicitation for the READ Act Advisory List of Professional Development Programs

The Colorado Department of Education is currently seeking vendors for statewide professional development programs. The purpose of this solicitation is to identify vendors to be included on the Advisory List for the READ Act. Professional development programs will be used by local education providers of children in kindergarten through third grade. Only vendors that are currently on the Professional Development Advisory list for the READ Act and provide training that meets the requirements for evidence based teacher training are invited to apply at this time. Information about the requirements of the evidence based teacher training can be found under 10 C.R.S. 22-7-1208. All vendors currently on the list must apply to remain on the list if they provide evidence based teacher training. Read More

READ Act Professional Development Reviewers Needed

The Preschool through Third Grade office at CDE is seeking reviewers to take part in the process of approving professional development options for the READ Act advisory lists. Learn more.

Monthly READ Act Informational Webinars

In order to keep educators and other stakeholders informed of the changes in the READ Act brought about by SB19-199, CDE will host monthly informational webinars.

Register for April 14, 2020 Webinar

View prior SB19-199 webinars.

READ Act Teacher Training

The Colorado Department of Education (hereafter referred to as “CDE” or “the Department”) is soliciting competitive, responsive proposals from experienced organizations to provide a professional development product on evidence-based practices in teaching reading that can be used to provide training to kindergarten, first-, second-, and third-grade teachers throughout the state of Colorado as authorized in SB19-199. This RFP seeks proposals for an in-person professional development product and an online professional development product, which may be provided by the same vendor or by two separate vendors. Read more.

Early Literacy Grant Rules Approved

SB 19-199 amended the Colorado READ Act and incorporated changes to the Early Literacy Grant program requiring an update to the rules. The state board approved the amended rules for the administration of the Early Literacy Grant program during the September board meeting. Updates include increased funding, additional reporting requirements and training for K-3 teachers.

 


Frequently Accessed Resources

Early Literacy Grant: