Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


* * CDE will be closed on Monday, February 18 for the President's Day holiday. * *

Board Member Profiles

The Colorado State Board of Education is composed of seven elected officials representing Colorado’s congressional districts with the Commissioner of Education acting as non-voting secretary to the Board. Board members serve without pay for six-year terms. Every other year, the State Board elects a chairman and vice-chairman from its own membership.

Angelika Schroeder Joyce Rankin Profile Val Flores
Debora Scheffel

Angelika Schroeder (D)

2nd Congressional District,

Joyce Rankin (R)

3rd Congressional District,

Valentina (Val) Flores (D)

1st Congressional District,

Debora Scheffel (R)

4th Congressional District,

Steve Durham Profile
Rebecca McClellan

Steve Durham (R)

5th Congressional District,
Colorado Springs

Rebecca McClellan (D)

6th Congressional District,

Jane Goff (D)

7th Congressional District,

Not pictured:

  • Katy Anthes, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education, Secretary of the State Board of Education

For additional information, e-mail:

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access