You are here

Commissioner's Teacher Cabinet

Commissioner's Teacher Cabinet

The Commissioner's Teacher Cabinet is an opportunity for Colorado teachers to share their hands-on classroom knowledge. This advisory group is made up of 20 practicing teachers from around the state representing small, medium, large, rural, suburban and urban school systems.

Role of Teacher Cabinet Members:

  • Serve as a sounding board for the implementation of state education policy.
  • Brainstorm solutions for some of the challenges facing today’s educators, such as raising achievement among all students, supporting low-performing schools and increasing the number of individuals joining the teaching profession.

Selected educators for the second Teacher Cabinet cohort will serve two years on the cabinet beginning in October 2019. The Colorado Teacher of the Year has an automatic spot on the cabinet.

Image for Commissioner's Teacher Cabinet

2019 Teacher Cabinet Members

Justin Bankey – Music Teacher, 18 Years
Cactus Valley Elementary, Garfield School District RE-2

Carla Cariño – Social Studies Teacher, 19 Years
North High School, Denver Public Schools

Margaret "Meg" Cypress (2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year) – Elementary Teacher, 17 Years
Bradley International School, Denver Public Schools

Ashley Farris – AP Language and Composition Teacher, 10 Years
KIPP Denver Collegiate High School (Charter), Denver Public Schools

Andrew Guinn – Mathematics Teacher, 6 Years
Pagosa Springs Middle School, Archuleta School District 50JT

Dan Haught – Speech-Language Pathologist, 5 Years
Mesa Elementary/Westminster Academy for International Studies – Westminster Public Schools

Terry Highfield – Elementary Teacher, 20 Years
S. Christa McAuliffe STEM Academy, Greeley-Evans School District 6

Laura Keathley – Special Education Teacher, 30 Years
Avery-Parsons Elementary, Buena Vista School District R-31

Valerie Lovato – Elementary Teacher, 9 Years
Eagleton Elementary, Denver Public Schools

Jocelyn Nguyen-Reed – Mathematics Teacher, 8 Years
Cherry Creek High School, Cherry Creek School District 5

Nathan Pearsall – Social Studies Teacher, 11 Years
Vista Ridge High School, Falcon School District 49

Christina Randle (2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year) – Elementary Teacher, 15 Years
Soaring Eagles Elementary School, Harrison School District No. 2

Cynthia Rimmer – Elementary Teacher, 19 Years
Fraser Valley Elementary, East Grand School District 2

Allison Sampish – Elementary Teacher, 11 Years
Fall River Elementary, St. Vrain Valley School District

Kevin Vaughn – Elementary Teacher, 22 Years
Dolores Elementary, Dolores School District RE-4A

Sheri White – Elementary Resource Teacher, 21 Years
HOPE Online Learning Academy (Charter/Online), Douglas County School District RE-1

Megan Witucki – Elementary Teacher, 8 Years
Compass Montessori - Wheat Ridge Campus (Charter), Jefferson County School District R-1

News Releases