You are here

SBE Committee Service 2023


State Board of Education Service on Committees

C.R.S. 22-2-107(1)(a) provides that the state board has the power “[t]o perform all duties delegated to it by law.”  Various statutes specifically require State Board members to represent the SBE on committees.  The State Board’s Operating Procedures state that the State Board selects (and the Chairman appoints) members to serve for a two-year period to committees established by statute and organizations/committees to which the State Board wishes to designate a board member liaison.

This list contains the committees which State Board members serve on either by statutory requirement or as liaisons from the State Board.  Board members are appointed by the Governor, State Board Chair, Commissioner, or other organizations.

Current Service

  • Steve Durham
    • SBE Legislative Contact
    • School Trust Lands Committee
  • Lisa Escárcega
    • Research Review Committee
    • State Board of Education Vice-Chairwoman
  • Karla Esser
    • Gifted Education State Advisory Committee (GE-SAC)
    • SBE Legislative Contact
  • Rebecca McClellan
    • State Board of Education Chairwoman
  • Kathy Plomer
    • Research Review Committee
  • Debora Scheffel
    • Colorado Special Education Advisory Committee (CSEAC)
  • Angelika Schroeder
    • Colorado Association of School Boards (CASB) Liaison
    • Public Education and Business Coalition (PEBC) Board of Directors
  • Rhonda Solis
    • State Advisory Council for Parent Involvement in Education (SACPIE) Liaison
    • Teacher of the Year Evaluation Committee
  • Stephen Varela
    • Gifted and Talented Liaison