You are here
Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Changes to Educational Interpreter Authorizations
We want to share an important change in the Educational Interpreter Authorizations for those individuals who have not met requirements for their full authorization. CDE has recently been informed by the Attorney General’s Office that Educational Interpreter Authorizations fall under the same requirements as other Special Services Providers (SSPs). As with other SSPs, CDE is not authorized to issue emergency authorizations or licenses for individuals who do not meet the requirements for the full authorization and/or license. For individuals who are currently in between the past authorization practices and this current clarification, there will be a case-by-case review for the 2021-2022 school year. We are aware that the written test is still unavailable, and for individuals who have met all the requirements except for the written test, they will be issued an Emergency Authorization until we are able to resume administering the written test. Please be advised that as of July of 2022, emergency authorizations will NOT be issued by the CDE. At that time, Educational Interpreter authorization candidates will need to meet all the requirements (a minimum of a 2-year degree in interpreting, passing score on the written assessment, and attainment of a minimum score of a 3.5 out of 5.0 on the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) performance test) to receive their Educational Interpreter Authorization.
We are also unable to give extensions on renewal authorizations due to the inability to meet continuing education requirements. Throughout the last 18 months CDE has worked to provide free on-line skills classes for educational interpreters. We are working to provide at least one class in August and one class in October. Preference will be given to individuals who need to renew their authorization within the next year AND individuals who have attended the trainings they registered for. If you have any other questions or concerns please reach out to Shauna Moden at Moden_S@cde.state.co.us.
Definition: According to Colorado Eligibility, a child with a hearing impairment, including Deafness shall have a deficiency in hearing sensitivity as demonstrated by an elevated threshold of auditory sensitivity to pure tones or speech where even with the help of amplification, the child is prevented from receiving reasonable educational benefit from general education.
The Colorado Rules for the Administration of the Exceptional Children’s Educational Act (ECEA) defines the criteria for identifying a student with a hearing disability (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). Colorado’s Deaf Child Bill of Rights (1996) requires that all students with a hearing disability have a Communication Plan that considers students’ communicative needs as they relate to social and emotional development.
Listen, Learn, Ask, Answer
Join us Thursday afternoons from 3:30-5:30pm on Zoom
There will be a SHORT presentation ~ followed by questions, answers, and interactive discussions!
D/HH Job Board
View the latest listing of Deaf Hard of Hearing jobs across the state.
Statewide Deaf/HH Events Calendar
Bulletin Board features D/HH specific announcements and important information.
Want to Add to the Events Calendar or Bulletin Board?
To post an event, on the Statewide Deaf/HH Events Calendar or Bulletin Board, please complete the Post an Event Google Form. Pease have ready the following information: event title; date; time; location; event description; sponsoring organization and contact information.
If you have an event flyer or web link, please include it for posting on the events calendar/bulletin board. For events requiring an RSVP and/or request for accommodations, please add that information (along with instructions/contact information) within the event description.
Google Forms must be submitted at least 2 weeks prior to the event.
These events are not a representation of the Colorado Department of Education, nor are they an endorsement from CDE. Unless specified, CDE does not organize these events. This is simply a platform for Deaf/HH events to be listed.
- Listservs for CO Providers
- Statewide Collaboration Information
- Mentor Program for School Professionals
- Teachers of the Deaf
- Educational Audiologists
- Educational Interpreters
- Accessibility During COVID
- Understanding Hearing Loss
- Birth - 3 Years Old
- Transition Services
Forms and Documents
- D/HH Related Documents
- Archived Deaf/Hard of Hearing Newsletters
For more information about services for students who are hearing impaired, please contact:
Shauna Moden, Deaf Education Specialist
Email Shauna Moden
Find what you were looking for?
If you have problems with broken links or accessing the content on this page, please contact our web content coordinator Amanda Timmerman at Timmerman_A@cde.state.co.us. Please copy the URL link for this page into the email when referencing the problem you are experiencing.