You are here

Standards Review and Revision - Social Studies Committee

Colorado Academic Standards: All Students, All Standards

December 2017 Draft of Proposed Social Studies Standards

Although the public feedback system is now closed, the links below contain screen shots of that system to use as a reference until the final proposed revisions are developed after the last committee meeting in February

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: history (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: geography (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: economics (including personal financial literacy) (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: civics (PDF)

Committee Meetings

Committee meetings are open to the public. The public is welcome to observe but not participate in committee meetings. Please note the public observation norms.

First Committee Meeting

Second Committee Meeting

Third Committee Meeting

Fourth Committee Meeting

Fifth Committee Meeting

Content-Specific Resources

Committee Members


  • Chris Elnicki, Instructional Facilitator with Specialization in Social Studies, Cherry Creek School District

  • Andy Roob, Ph.D. Instructional Coach - Social Studies and Science, Brighton School District 27j

Content Specialist:

Committee Members:

  • Corey Sell, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Elementary Education & Literacy, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Ryanne Van Sciver, K-5 Social Studies Coordinator, Adams 12 Five Star Schools
  • Della Hoffman, 6th Grade Newcomer Teacher, Denver Public Schools
  • Rose Rothmier, Retired Teacher
  • Charles Kastens, 4th Grade Teacher, Cherry Creek School District
  • Charlee Archuleta, 6th Grade Math/Social Studies Teacher, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Michelle Pearson, Middle School Teacher, Adams 12 Five Star Schools
  • Andrew Bristol, Middle School Coordinator of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, Harrison School District 2
  • Lisa Jackson, 7th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Delta County School District
  • Jill Martinez, Department Head-Social Studies Teacher, Del Norte School District
  • Nicole Morgan, 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Cherry Creek School District
  • Alyssa Wooten, K-12 Program Implementation Manager, EverFi
  • Kurt Knierim, High School Social Studies Teacher, Poudre School District
  • David L. Hazlett, High School Social Studies Teacher/ Department Head, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8
  • Jenny Pettit, Social Studies Coordinator, St. Vrain Valley School District
  • Tim Kubik, Ph.D. Principal Consultant, Project ARC, LLC
  • Sarah Hurd, Social Studies Content Specialist - Secondary, Jefferson County Public Schools
  • William W. Daniel, high School Social Studies Teacher, Littleton Public Schools
  • Kim Davis, Content Facilitator, Social Studies K-12, Mesa County Valley School District 51
  • Angela Anderson, Social Studies Teacher, Jefferson County Public Schools
  • Marc Johnson, Education Program Director, Economic Literacy Colorado
  • Peter R. Wright, Social Studies Team Lead and High School Teacher, Denver Public Schools
  • James Wilson, High School Social Studies Teacher - Department Chair - Instructional Coach, Morgan County School District Re-3
  • Susan Sharkey, Director, National Endowment for Financial Education
  • Kirk R. Salmela, Junior and High School Principal, Springfield School District
  • Carla Cariño, High School Social Studies Teacher, Denver Public Schools
  • Kelly Jones-Wagy, High School Social Studies Teacher, Cherry Creek School District
  • Jessica L. Pault-Atiase, Assistant City Attorney - Water & Utilities, City of Boulder

Contact Us

Stephanie Hartman, Social Studies Content Specialist, or 303-866-6577

< Return to Standards Review and Revision Committees
< Return to Standards Review and Revision Home