History, Culture, Social Contributions, and Civil Government in Education Commission

November 09, 2023

Meeting Minutes

Attendees

Commission members: Samantha Messier, Pam Espinoza, Majel Boxer, Catie Santos de la Rosa, Jason Lester, Brent Sabati, Soon Beng Yeap, Garrett Royer, Michelle Lopez, Jingzi Huang

Absent: Jared Anthony, Eric Carpio, Jennifer Trujillo

Guests: Pam Benigno (Independence Institute)

Meeting Goals

- Goal 1: Commissioner training
- Goal 2: Introduce new members
- Goal 3: Elect Co-chair

Meeting was called to order: 4:30 pm

Quorum was reached.

Meeting Activities

- Introductions
- Commissioner training on open meetings, open records, ethic, commission charge
- Election of co-chair

Meeting Outcomes

The Commission unanimously selected Michelle Lopez to be the co-chair who will support Pam Espinoza.

Next Steps

1. Next meeting: TBD

Meeting adjourned: 5:35 pm