

Colorado Special Education Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes

Planning Meeting Thursday, July 20 and Friday July 21, 2023 Courtyard Marriott Grand Junction Grand Junction, CO

CSEAC Mission: Our mission is to actively represent children/youth with disabilities and impact decisions made on their behalf to enhance the quality of educational services.

CSEAC Vision: All learners are respected and challenged with high expectations, their needs are met, and student aspirations for success are fulfilled.

Members in Attendance: Heather Alderman, Julia Allison, Susan Archuleta, Erin Camper, Cori Canty, Jessica Cuthbertson, Laurie Ditterline, Michel Friberg, Heidi Graber, Eva Leon, Jill Pidcock, Amy Rosengrants-Smith, Shannon Sloane, Kaegan Smith

Absences: Shelly Agostine, Kelly Balderston, Betsy Basch, Jill Choate, Amy Dobronyi, Nicole Gross, Samantha Hollister, Cassie Sudbeck, Amanda Summers, Shelli Tillery, Kate Tshikalu-John, Ann Wilson

CDE Staff and Other Guests: John Copenhaver, Program Director, Center for Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE); Beth Donahue, Family Engagement Specialist, Exceptional Student Services Unit (ESSU), CDE; Gloria Durosko, Supervisor, Data and Monitoring Liaison, ESSU, CDE; Paul Foster, Executive Director, ESSU, CDE; David Ramer, Program Support Assistant, ESSU, CDE; Debora Scheffel, State Board of Education Liaison

Thursday, July 20, 2021

Welcome and Opening Activities

- Members and guests introduced themselves.
- Meeting norms and expectations were discussed.
- The committee recognized Laurie Ditterline, outgoing co-chair.



Minutes Approval

• The minutes from the April 20, 2023 CSEAC meeting were approved unanimously without amendment.

State Performance Plan (SPP) and Annual Performance Report (APR): Information Session - Gloria Durosko, Supervisor, Data and Monitoring Liaison, ESSU, CDE

• Gloria gave an overview of the SPP/APR.

Local SEACs - Anna Stewart

- What is the desired outcome for adding a local SEAC?
- Anna's time was limited she will present at the September meeting.

What is Happening in the ESSU? - Paul Foster, Executive Director, ESSU

- CDE is governed by the 9-member State Board of Education.
- We have a new commissioner, Susana Córdova.
- ESSU is within the Student Learning Division.
- The State Joint Budget Committee (JBC) has tight control on funding.

Member Orientation - John Copenhaver, Program Director, Center for Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE)

- Take your role on CSEAC seriously; attendance at meetings is very important.
- CSEAC's purpose is providing policy guidance with respect to special education and related services for children with disabilities in Colorado.
- CSEAC advises on Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Educational Act (IDEA) (in Colorado, ages 3 to 21).
- Colorado was the first state to have an advisory committee member representing the Parent Training and Information Center (PTI). Now there are 4 or 5 other states that include this. John believes that if the IDEA is ever reauthorized, PTI should be included.
- CSEAC members must be representative of the State population.

Friday, July 21, 2023

New Co-chair Process

- The 2024-2026 Co-Chair elect must have three years remaining on CSEAC membership. One co-chair must be a parent or a person with a disability. Members can self-nominate or nominate another member.
- Eva Leon and Susan Archuleta were interested and spoke about why they would like to be co-chair.
- The members voted; Susan Archuleta is the new co-chair elect.

Constituent Input Group Work

- Members had a robust brainstorming session. The following topics were chosen:
 - o Inclusion
 - o Parent Education
 - o Transition



Subcommittee Work

• Subcommittees met and reported out.

Respectfully submitted by David Ramer, September 2023

The contents of this handout were developed under a grant from the Department of Education. However, those contents do not necessarily represent the policy of the Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.