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CTE Evaluation Worksheet

 

01.23.2018 Worksheets provide general guidance about content proficiency requirements for purposes of application.  Actual application 
evaluations and decisions are made by CDE staff in Educator Licensing.   

 

CTE Director 

Applicant 
                                                                    

Legal name:      Date:   
 

Requirements 
Content Knowledge (Applicants must have A and B): 

A. Hold a valid Colorado secondary (7-12) teaching license, principal license, administrator license, special education 
director license or a valid Colorado CTE Authorization. 

AND either B or C: 

B. Completed related postsecondary coursework from a regionally accredited institution as verified on an official 
transcript to include content coursework in each of the areas listed in the table below. 

OR 

C. Completion of Colorado Community College System CTE Director program (certificate of completion required). 

Occupational experience 
• 6,000 hours (3 full-time years) experience in a CTE role (instructor, specialist, counselor and/or an administrator) 

or in another educational administrative capacity within the past seven years. 

 
 

Content coursework 
(Completed coursework in each of the areas) Coursework Semester Hours 

Administrative strategies for CTE programs 
For example:  Colorado State University EDCT 612 

  

Philosophy/organization of workforce education  
For example: Colorado State University EDUC 601 
or EDU 250  

  

Total semester hours:  
Note:  
 
For those applicants who hold a Colorado Teacher license and/or CTE Authorization only will be required to take the 
following coursework to move from the Initial to Professional CTE Director Authorization: 

1.  School Leadership, supervision and evaluation 
2. School Finance/resource management 
3. Educational reform/policy/law 

 
Initial (3 year) CTE Authorizations cannot be renewed and always include mandatory CTE coursework assigned at the 
time of issuance. You will be notified by CDE via email of all required coursework that is needed to move from a three-
year to a five-year CTE Authorization. Please do not enroll in coursework related to this CTE Authorization until you 
have been notified by the Colorado Department of Education. 
 
For those applicants who hold a Colorado principal or administrator license, no subsequent coursework will be 
assigned, and you will be issued a professional CTE authorization directly. 


