

201 East Colfax Avenue Denver, CO 80203-1799 Angelika Schroeder Chairwoman 2nd Congressional District

Steve Durham Vice-Chairman 5th Congressional District

Lisa Escárcega 1st Congressional District

Joyce Rankin 3rd Congressional District

Debora Scheffel 4th Congressional District

Rebecca McClellan 6th Congressional District

Karla Esser 7th Congressional District

RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF CONSTITUTION DAY: SEPTEMBER 17

Whereas:	Our rights and liberties are rooted in the cherished documents	4 th Cong	
	that gave birth to our nation, those being the United States Constitution with its Bill of Rights which document sets forth the	Rebect 6 th Cong	
	principals upon which our government is based; and	Karla E 7 th Cong	
Whereas:	The core principles embodied in the foundational documents that define the United States system of government form a common bond to unite the people of the United States; and		
Whereas:	We as Americans enjoy our freedom and the rule of law through these documents our founding fathers created; and		
Whereas:	The civic culture that defines the United States can be sustained As long as each generation develops a deep understanding and Commitment to the principles of our founding documents and, Accordingly, it is vital that every American be educated in the Knowledge of our Constitution; and		
Whereas:	Informed citizens are necessary to exercise and exhibit responsible and civic knowledge, which will ensure the preservation of our form of constitutional self-government; and		
Whereas:	Constitutional self-government places a tremendous degree of responsibility and trust upon the citizens who are to govern themselves; and		
Whereas:	In the words of our nation's first President, George Washington, during his April 30, 1789 inaugural address, "The preservation of the sacred fire of liberty and the destiny of the republican model of government a justly considereddeeply,finally, staked on the experiment entrusted		

the hands of the American people."; and

Whereas:	Section 22-1-104, Colorado Revised Statutes, requires that the history and civil government of the United States shall be taught in all the public schools in Colorado and that satisfactory completion of such a course shall be a condition of high school graduation in the public schools in Colorado; and		
Whereas:	By the unanimous consent of the States present at the Constitutional Congress on Monday, September 17, 1787, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the Constitution was submitted to the state delegations for ratification, and it subsequently was ratified and amended to include its Bill of Rights, where our unalienable rights and liberties are enumerated; and		
Whereas:	Constitution Day was established to celebrate the United States Constitution with its Bill of Rights; and		
Whereas:	Constitution Day provides an opportunity for American citizens to reaffirm the achievements of our founding fathers and recommit ourselves to preserving the rights, privileges and responsibilities our nation's founders secured for themselves and for the posterity of future generations of Americans; now, therefore,		
Be it Resolved	:	That the Colorado State Board of Education hereby agrees with The United States Congress in declaring September 17 as Constitution Day to celebrate our representative republic system of government and the central contributions of the Constitution to the freedom Americans are privileged to enjoy; and	
Be it Further Resolved:		That the Colorado State Board of Education encourages all Educators in Colorado to inform students about the contents, Importance and significance of the United States Constitution With its Bill of Rights; and	



Be it Further Resolved:

That the Colorado State Board of Education recommends that educators take an active role by celebrating, discussing and seeking the active involvement of members of their communities in designing and implementing relevant educational programs.

DATED THIS 9TH DAY OF JUNE, 2021:

_554

Angelika T. Schroeder, Chairman 2nd Congressional District

Hun J. Surla

Steve Durham, Vice-Chairman 5th Congressional District

Lisa Escárcega 1st Congressional District

Joyce Fankin

Joyce Rankin 3rd Congressional District

Sulton Z. Schiffer

Debora Scheffel 4th Congressional District

Rebecca McClellan 6th Congressional District



Karla Esser

Karla Esser 7th Congressional District